Direct 3D Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dOOfus, May 15, 2006.

  1. dOOfus

    dOOfus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    I have a problem with Direct3D. I already ran dxdiag and it had troubles when i clicked the button for test direct3d. I get a blockiness when I do all three of the tests. The same happens when I try to play games that require d3d.

    [​IMG]

    Windows XP Pro SP2
    Intel D915PBL
    P4 3.4GHz
    128MB DDR2
    DirectX 9.0c
    NVIDIA GeForce 6600GT
    Latest BIOS and drivers.

    Can anyone help me out?
     
  2. dOOfus

    dOOfus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    anyone?
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Swap your video card with a friend's and see if that fixes the problem. First sign of failing hardware is artifacts in the signal. The next sign is usually smoke.
     
  4. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah, it looks like a bad video card.. check to make sure the fan is spinning on it (if applicable). You can also check the temperature of the card in the Nvidia driver settings.
     
  5. dOOfus

    dOOfus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    The GPU core temperature is 58C.
    The ambient temperature is 49C.

    I would have tried this card in another system but it is a PCIe and nobody I know uses PCIe. Maybe I'll try to borrow another PCIe card and see what happens.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The core temperature doesn't tell you much unless the video card is freezing in the middle of a game. Mine regularly hits 80C (I have a fanless setup) and it works fine. My bet is the memory on your card is failing, because that's where textures are stored before they get applied to 3D shapes. From the look of it, the error you're having is in the textures, not in the perspective calculator nor in the raster (pixel-by-pixel) output to the screen.

    EDIT: Just for the hell of it, pull the card out and plug it back in just in case the connection to the motherboard is crappy. Also, maybe you can try an old PCI video card -- I don't know if PCI can plug into PCI-Express or not, so if you try my idea, don't "make it fit".
     
  7. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    PCI cannot plug into PCI-Express. Two totally different connectors.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I think you should have to quote this every time you post sort of as a "warning" to everyone else that you have no idea what you're talking about.
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    And I think you should fuck off, but it's pretty clear that's not going to happen either.
     
  10. dOOfus

    dOOfus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    I'm not computer illiterate, I KNOW PCI doesn't fit in PCIe :o
     
  11. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could be hardware problem. try other cards, there must be someone you know that has a PCIe card.
     
  12. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah... I think we figured that out already.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good enough then. I thought that since the standards are similar, they might have designed it so that double-keyed PCI cards could plug into PCI-Express slots for the sake of backward compatibility. But, I've never seen a PCI-Express card or slot firsthand, which is why I added the disclaimer.
     
  14. dOOfus

    dOOfus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    Thanks for the suggestions guys. I went to Best Buy today to borrow a 7600GS and it the Direct3D test worked fine. So now I gotta see if my video card is still under warranty.
     
  15. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    What brand is the card? (the bad one)
     
  16. dOOfus

    dOOfus OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    Leadtek PX6600GT TDH. I picked this card out around a little over a year ago because of the reviews I read comparing the 6600GT series. I will never buy a Leadtek again. Just 3 months out of warranty and it craps out on me. Can anyone recommend another good PCIe card? I'm looking for something around $100 or less.
     
  17. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well, if you are looking for something comparable, you could go with a 7600GT.. otherwise, go for a 7900GT or 7900GTX. As far as brands go, I prefer XFX or BFG Tech.
     
  18. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Oh... I just read.. $100 or less... you are probably going to be limited to a 6600 or a 6600GT.
     
  19. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    yeah, I had a GeForce 2 Ti from Leadtek and a capictor blew. Don't buy from Leadtek!

    However, I went to a electronics supply company and bought the right kind of cap and soldered it on. It runs fine still to this day.
     
  20. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I never actually had a Leadtek card go bad on me, but I was given a Leadtek GeForce4 Ti4200 as an evaluation unit. The picture was grainy and fuzzy. The drivers and applications that were included were terrible.
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    oh my God. They are not even similar standards! PLEASE STOP POSTING!!! You have no business recommending products to people if you do not know about PCI-E, let alone haven't used it.
     
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you're telling me you can't tell the difference between professional advice and idle speculation? How many more disclaimers do I need to add before you get the message?
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I know you're full of shit. That's easy for me to see. But when some n00bs come in and ask a question, and you spout off some bullshit like "use a PCI card in your PCI-E slot, I think it works" then they don't know any better.
     
  24. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. I didn't realize your cause was so noble. Your pompous tone belies your generous soul.

    Also, my exact words were "maybe you can try an old PCI video card -- I don't know if PCI can plug into PCI-Express or not, so if you try my idea, don't 'make it fit'." It's hard to mistake that for "I'm sure you can do this, just give it a good shove and it'll plug in."

    Whereas, the part of my post stating that the artifacting is probably caused by a GRAM hardware error -- which has not been disputed by anybody -- was completely ignored by you, no doubt because it didn't give you the opportunity to try to degrade me.
     
  25. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    actually with some cards you can make a PCIe x16 card fit work in an x8 slot with some cutting.
     

Share This Page