SRS Dilemma at work. Need advice.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by kingtoad, Oct 4, 2007.

1. kingtoad

kingtoad OT Supporter

This is going to be a very long post, so please bare with me on it, and read it.

First, a little background on me and the office before I head into our problems.

I work as a web developer for a design agency. I am the only developer here, because of this, I am pulling the workload of multiple designers. That means I spend a significant amount of time at work. On most days, I am usually the first into the office, and the last one out. It is not uncommon of me spending 14 - 15 hours a day here. The downfall of this is that I am on salary and I do not get paid for these hours. But that's not the issue I'm having.

About a year ago we hired a freelance production artist to take over some of the workload of the designers and take care of repetitive, brainless tasks like resizing images and cropping images. She had first showed her emotional side when there was not much freelance work for her to do and she started crying and throwing a mini-tantrum, in fear that we won't be using her as a freelancer artist anymore.