A&P digital vs. film ?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by furious_vibes, Mar 30, 2005.

1. furious_vibes

furious_vibes New Member

i am just starting out in photography although i've been interested in it for a while. I have an old russian manual SLR so thats what i've ever used but i see all these people yammering about digital cameras and digital SLRs in particular. What're the advantages over using film cameras? Since it's digital as opposed to analog film, isn't image quality and clarity an issue? Can you create large prints that are comparable to film?
    what're the advantages/disadvantages? somebody help me out... i'm confused...

Also how do you create large, professional quality prints with digital (where can you get it done and what kind of equipment would you have to use) ?

2. hay112

hay112 For every sprinkle I find I shall kill you

google.com

3. Kinks

Kinks Sup. OT Supporter

4. FryingPan

FryingPan Certified Thread Killer

How much money do you have to spend on film, chemicals and darkroom supplies (if you do your own developing :noes: ), or processing costs?

The way I see it, digital has the advantage in price in the long run. Although it does cost much much more to get into initially, I see the obvious advantage is the ability to take thousands of shots in one outing and basically pick and choose the ones you want and not worry about wasted materials.

I shot film for awhile, but it was just very expensive for me at the time. Shoot a roll of 24-36 shots at a couple bucks a pop and then have them developed at a reputable shop (read: NOT WALMART OR WALGREENS) for another 10-15 bucks, and it adds up rather quickly. That one roll ended up costing me 20 bucks- and not everything turned out the way I wanted it to.

I'm not saying film is bad- I'd love to shoot it more, especially since I have access to some pretty damn nice 35mm SLRs and lenses here, but I just can't afford the cost inthe long run.

5. Ingen

Ingen New Member