A&P Digital SLR Comparrison ~ Canon Rebel XT vs. Olympus E300

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Demon Of Dreams, Jul 1, 2005.

1. Demon Of Dreams

Demon Of Dreams Feed me with lies and hate, and from that, I will

Dec 27, 2001
    After the papparazzi for the Houston OT Meat, I've started looking around at more digital cameras. SLR to be more to the point, and yes, I am new to them all together, and I want something to play with and something new to learn (and when I make a decision, I will also be taking some photography classes at the end of the summer).

Right now its really down to the ever popular Canon EOS 350d (Rebel XT) or the Olympus E-300

Olympus E-300 with 14-45mm Lense ~ $709
    Olympus E-300 with 14-45mm and 40-150 Lense ~ $848 (or $889 on NewEgg, or $1150 on DBuys with 2gb CF card, extra battery, charger, card reader, etc)
    Canon E-300 Rebel XT with 18-55mm Lense - $836 (or $925 on NewEgg)

E300 has a slightly larger aspect ration of 4:3, and 8mp
    However, I have read that anything about ISO800 isn't worth using due to noise and moire, whereas on the Rebel XT, thats not really an issue
    the E300 also has a dust filter, which the majority of other DSLR's do not

But I have never known anyone with firsthand experience with this camera, nor do I have any experience with it either.

Anyone here have it?
    I know the D70 and the XT are the two more popular of digital cameras, and I'm just debating between the olympus and the canon, I know the canon offers more since its a bit newer, but as far as image quality, truer colors, etc, I'm curious as to how happy people are with it.

the XT is a bit smaller as well, whether or not that is a good thing remains to be seen.

I've always been a supporter of Olympus products, I've liked them for some reason when others do not, but when it comes down to it, I want the best image quality I can get, and something that will be fun to learn with and get a lot of use.
  2. sony

sony Active Member