Did a little upgrading to the MacBook Pro today... *Pics*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The1Ash10, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    Did a little bit of upgrading today. I'm very happy with the results.
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    I also used SuperDuper. It's a very good, and easy to use program for doing a direct mirror of your hard drive.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2008
  2. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    Like I said, so far I'm very happy with the new setup. Installing the new hard drive was a HUGE pain in the ass. Made me wish I had one of the new models. Although, the 7200 RPM makes a big difference in load time of apps.
     
  3. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Super easy. Anyone can do it.
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  5. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    On the new ones yes. On the previous generation, not really. You have to take the entire case apart.
     
  6. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    What? I have a previous one and it's a breeze. Take off the battery, 3 screws to remove the cover and it slides right out. You may be thinking PowerBooks which required you take the bottom of the case off and then unscrew the drive sled. Same thing with the older TiBooks.
     
  7. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    I have never had a laptop hard drive replacement that was this big of a pain in the ass, but it's very doable for an average user.
     
  8. :-D damN!
     
  9. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    how big of a difference did the ram make?
     
  10. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    You mean a regular MacBook, not a Pro. On a Pro the entire top casing has to come off.
    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/MacBook-Pro-15-Inch-Core-2-Duo/Hard-Drive/115/9/Page-4
     
  11. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    huge! The RAM is faster, and when I have VMware running I don't notice any lag at all. I got a great deal on it through Newegg, also.
     
  12. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
  13. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Looking for the same HD upgrade. I upgraded to 4GB and your right it makes a huge difference with VMfusionrunning. Both Vista and OS X run flawlessly together.

    Looking to upgrade to a 7200rpm drive after xmas.
     
  14. mds2004

    mds2004 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I did the same to my 2.0C2D blackbook and I love it. Im seeing though I can still sell it for 850-900 on eBay and its getting tempting to upgrade.

    Oh I even got the same external hard drive case but in black for my old HD. I dig it.
     
  15. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    app load time is the biggest difference for me. I notice a little more vibration from the drive, but not anything more than you would expect.
     
  16. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    :werd: I just use it for time machine now. I'm also thinking of throwing it on ebay... Not sure how much I can get for it, now that it has all of the right upgrades.
     

Share This Page