Developers, feel my pain

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by red, Feb 10, 2009.

1. red

red New Member

I swear to god, next time someone asks me to fix an issue that has only been produced one time, on one machine, and was never seen again, I'm going to jump out the fucking window.

2. Doomsday

Doomsday XXX

you don't use any version control/tracker software?

3. red

red New Member

Of course we do. My 'one machine' tirade was referring to something that some QA person has seen exactly one time on some random machine with an irreproducibly bizarre configuration.

4. trouphaz

trouphaz New Member

so, they can't replicate it at all? where would you even start with that?

5. red

red New Member

You'd start with trying to replicate it again. Hence my fucking frustration. I'm a developer, I don't have the attention span to run the same fucking test over and over all goddamn day.

I used to complain when it was too busy, but now that we're at the tail end of getting a release out the door, and the produce I usually work on has been finished for weeks, I'm ending up with crap like this to do. Hunting down ghosts in other products.

6. boosted420

boosted420 New Member

Consider it an ID10T error and move on.

7. red

red New Member

My boss just resigned, the new dev manager is on vacation, there's almost no work to do right now, and I'm planning on leaving in a few months. There really isn't a lot to move on to.

Just bored.

8. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Just make whatever area of code that could have come from more robust in its error/exception handling, and say its fixed. Don't look for it if QA can't reproduce it. How are they to know you DIDN'T fix it if you say you did and they can't reproduce it?

;)

Having been on both sides of the QA/Developer battle... I can say that this is the best I could possibly have hoped for as a QA guy. In fact it was the expected behavior, but it never happened.

9. red

red New Member