desktop wallpaper settings

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bptillman, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. bptillman

    bptillman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    In the display properties when you go to the desktop tab and it lists all the images in the windows directory can it be changed to something else...cuz on my computer it loads the list of pictures in the my pictures folder in my documents....i already tried searching through the registry for something about it but found nothing...HELP!
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm not sure if you can do it the way you want, but what's wrong with hitting the browse button to select a different image?
     
  3. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    what i've done in teh past is actually made copies into the %windir&\Web\Wallpaper directory of the pics i want to show up in that list. i figure... HD space is cheap... and i only occasionally have uber-high-res pics in there.

    tho cmsurfer's suggestion is completely viable and i've done that too in the past.
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I actually took some time to look around in the registry, but didn't see anything. The closest I got was finding the reg key for the current and default wallpaper, but didn't see anything about the directory the wallpaper is stored in. A google search didn't turn up anything either.

    Not big deal for me since I don't change it too often.
     
  5. bptillman

    bptillman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    well see the problem is that my pictures folder that it decides to consider the default folder is like 2 gigs of pictures....so it sits there for a good minute or two loading the desktop tab of the display properties since its gotta get that long list of pictures...so im trying to get it to point back to the windows system folder like windows normally does
     

Share This Page