SRS depression from my job, thinking about leaving but everyone tells me know

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by quamen, Apr 7, 2009.

1. quamen

quamen New Member

I work in a prison about 40 miles from my house and make good money 17 dollars per hr, but i do have BA degree in criminal justice. Being locked in and as a correctional officer i don't really do anything all day. I sit down and monitor the inmates who are out of their cells, and then the other half which come out later in the day, upper and bottom tier.

I always wanted to become a cop and be out their helping people and thought this would be a great starting point. I was happy when i got hired, but i became very depressed quickly. I have no stimulation and feel no sense of accomplishment at the end of the day, because i really just sit down all day. It is the easiest job i ever had and best pay, but i have become very depressed. I cant stop thinking about things and keep saying i should just just run my seasonal business because i make about the same money if not a little more. EVen though it is hard work, i enjoy it and seemed not to worry because i have really no financial obligations because i dont have anything.

The Job is so secure so it is hard to leave, but i feel like my health is more important, but everyone tells me to stay. I try to make the best of the job and joke with the inmates all day, but it is just so repetitive and i feel like im going no where with this job. I need to get my act 120 police academy training to become a cop in most places, but my job wont give me a flexible schedule.

2. Ford4Life

Ford4Life Guest

Can you apply with the state police? I know where I live (Ohio) if a correctional officer is applying with the Highway Patrol, the prision they are assigned to is required to give them flex time to attend training and testing.