Departitioning a former OS HD

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BajaDak, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. BajaDak

    BajaDak If you have poo......fling it now

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    <shrug>
    I want to use a HD that formerly was my main HD, as an external HD. Everytime that I try to format the drive into FAT32, the program says that it can't do it because it's partitioned for Windows files. How do I break the HD down so that i can re-format it the way I want?
     
  2. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    if you cant fat32 in windows, try partition magic if you want to repartition it, Swiss Knife if you want to make the whole thing fat32 for external use.
     
  3. BajaDak

    BajaDak If you have poo......fling it now

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    <shrug>
    I'll try partition magic real quick, Swiss Knife is the one kicking me the error message.
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    you should be able to remove the partitions and format it in disk manager, just remember removing partitions will kill all the data on the drive.
     
  5. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    Are you using partitions larger than 32GB? If so, that is why it won't work. I would break up the drive into multiple 32GB partitions and then install the OS on the C: drive... depending on how large the drive is, you may have 20+ partitions.
     
  6. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO

    Weird, ive used Swiss Knife to FAT32 a 80gb and a 640gb.
     

Share This Page