DELL 4600 desktop problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hoppy1028, Jul 6, 2008.

  1. hoppy1028

    hoppy1028 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    Need a little bit of help for my gf's Dell 4600 desktop, she had it plugged in and running till about october, then she moved and never hooked it back up.
    We tried the other day to hook it up, and now it has some kind of error and we want to get this hooked up before her new semester starts

    It reads "Diskette Drive 0 Seek Failure"
    [​IMG]

    anyone have any insight on what the problem is and how to get this thing operational

    Thanks
    Anthony
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    the floppy drive died, either remove it or disable it in BIOS and you should be good to go

    and if you do remove it you should still disable it in BIOS because it may still give you the same problem
     
  3. hoppy1028

    hoppy1028 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    ok so i can just disconnect that from inside and now after i left it alone while i went out it now has this screen

    [​IMG]

    it will not let me type anything by the way at all and will not let me open up setup or boot menus
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    are you using a usb keyboard?

    also, it looks like you may have pulled the cable for the hard drive instead if the floppy drive. The floppy drive and hard drive cables look similar but the connectors for the hard drive are a bit longer.
     
  5. hoppy1028

    hoppy1028 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    no hard drive cables and floppy drive are all still in, and the keyboard is the one that came with it with the purple connector

    it has the 4 problem code lights in the back

    all are green except D which is yellow
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odd, I have the exact same problem on a workstation at work. I think it's actually being caused by the gigabit network card I added, don't ask me why, but the only time it's booted up since the problem started was when I removed that card.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    [​IMG]
     
  8. hoppy1028

    hoppy1028 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    i unplugged cleaned and replugged in all of the ports in there, while dusting the whole thing and same exact results:greddy:
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    you have to enter bios
    you have to make your keyboard work first
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pull out the BIOS battery for a few seconds, then put it back in.
     

Share This Page