Deleting Firefox Cache

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lightsareout, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    I'm working on a script for class that will wipe all firefox cache (history, cookies, saved passwords, etc...) Anyone know what directory everything is stored in in windows?
     
  2. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    about:cache, its nested within "documents and settings" :squint:
    each system is going to be different
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    %AppData%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    But firefox is setup to do this automatically if enabled, isn't it?
     
  5. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't you just enable it in the options? options -> privacy -> always clear when closing firefox and select everything.
     
  6. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN

    this was a thought but the rest of this script is so that when a computer looses its connection to a network that it locks the computer and wipes all the browsing cache. Its all for security for a project that i'm working on for a client that is a hospital
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i don't know why the others missed the part that it's for a script for class,...

    again,... use the %AppData% variable for the path
    this variable contains the full path to the Application Data folder to any w2k/xp/vista pc.

    example:

    PC1, Vista = C:\Users\John\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles
    PC2, XP = C:\Documents & Settings\David\Local Settings\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles

    using '%Appdata%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles' will bring you to those folders
    kind of like a universal naming thing
     
  8. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    sweet! thanks!!!
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I didn't miss anything. Just thought it was weird that a class would ask for a script for something that's already native to the software.
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    for 1 pc, yes it's weird

    his 2nd post says its for multiple computers though
    that gave me the impression that the threadstarter needs something to 'force delete' the firefox cache on any pc, regardless of what browser setting it has,.. thus the script
     
  11. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    it sounds like he wants an on-demand script instead of waiting to close the browser or something like that.
     
  12. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    what we're doing is force deleting and clearing temp files, caches, etc when a computer, mainly a laptop looses its wireless connection or wired for desktops. say it was stolen from a hospital or other highly confidential company.
     

Share This Page