deleting crap off my HP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by copeland, May 23, 2007.

  1. copeland

    copeland smarter than you

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PG B.C.
    so my laptop came with a bunch of 3rd party BS, vonage, zip.ca etc. now I'm not too familiar with Vista, but I found add and remove software...

    none of the bloated crap is on the list, so can I just delete the icons on the desktop and the folders in program files? or is there a more sure fire way to uninstall this crap?
     
  2. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Search on Google for "Decrapifier" -- I think it was originally intended to clean up Dell add-ons but I'm pretty sure it works with HP also. Not sure if it works with Vista -- you'll have to check.

    Basically it automatically removes everything that you probably don't want.
     
  3. Hops

    Hops OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,531
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    Reformat? That is if you have the vista install disks.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Often, those are not installed apps.

    If it's not in your ad remove list, it's quite likely because it's not installed.
     
  5. copeland

    copeland smarter than you

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PG B.C.
    thats what I was thinking, I just have the icons on the desktop and a folder in program files...
     
  6. copeland

    copeland smarter than you

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PG B.C.
    I was thinking the vista disk would just reinstall all the hp support also?
     
  7. Hops

    Hops OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,531
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    Oh do they give you some special HP Vista Disc? Not a regular Vista? I've always built my own systems and don't have a laptop so I have no idea :)
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    fixed, vista kinda sucks
     
  9. copeland

    copeland smarter than you

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PG B.C.
    Actually I think it's just uncomfortable right now being such a differnece in navigation, but will see, I turned UAC off and that ,made a big difference.

    the disk I got only say "Upgrade disk" it's an VISTA disk, but the instructions just seem to mention upgrading...
     
  10. copeland

    copeland smarter than you

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PG B.C.

Share This Page