Defaults

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Eye For The Winter, Sep 11, 2005.

  1. Eye For The Winter

    Eye For The Winter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I set a program to open certain types of files. Such as setting iTunes to open up a .mp3 instead of VLC opening it. I recently switched to mac and I know on Windows there was a program that set program access defaults. I was just wondering if there was something to do that for mac.
     
  2. untoastytoast

    untoastytoast The Glory Days

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Palace of Auburn Hills
    right click on any mp3 file, select 'get info', then go to the box where it says 'open with' and select itunes. then where it says 'use this application to open all documents like this' click the change all button. congrats on the switch btw.
     
  3. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    you will have to remember though, that it won't always work in those situations. My default application for opening .jpg's is Preview but if I edit and save a .jpg in Photoshop and go to open it later, it will open in Photoshop.

    the mac is all about associations, which is why .exe files can't be ran unless there is an installed program associated with it.
     
  4. ppops

    ppops mark webber = teh future

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    That doesn't happen to me. :dunno:
     
  5. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    That's compatibility. Try opening a .dmg file in Windows.
     
  6. You can change the creator types of saved files in most apps.
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    true, but .exe files can be ran on the mac as long as there is an application associated with it (example: Constrain to 300pixels.exe works with Photoshop)
     

Share This Page