Default Homepage for Router?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LeGenDz, Jul 1, 2006.

  1. LeGenDz

    LeGenDz American Desi Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    How can I make it where anyone using internet off my Linksys router automatically connects to my homepage of choice?
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    You'd have to setup some sort of proxy system where people have to log in or do some authentication procedure before they can hit the internet.

    They do this for the wireless at school. If you try to hit a website without authenticating, you get a page informing you that you have to authenticate (which you do by SSHing into a proxy server of some sort).
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    err, I doubt your school uses SSH for their proxy...


    As for the homepage, you can't. But as Penguin Man said, you can make a default page for those not authenticated... If you have one of the more common linksys routers, then there is plenty of free firmware that has this functionality... Search for "linksys hotspot".
     
  4. LeGenDz

    LeGenDz American Desi Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Any of u guys familiar with NoCat?
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    The process to get access to the wireless (or public wired) internet is to SSH into a server (10.0.0.1) using your university ID and password. As long as you keep the SSH connection open, you have access. I don't know exactly how the system works, but it certainly _does_ involve SSH (and some OpenBSD magic, I think).
     

Share This Page