WEB Dedicated server, how does that work?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Vtec44, Apr 10, 2008.

1. Vtec44

Vtec44 OG!

I've always used shared hosting account, but starting to consider getting a dedicated server due to the ammount of sites and traffic lately. How does that work as far as maintaining patches to the OS, installing software, binding IP addresses, etc? Do you have to do that yourself?

2. 2ofdem

2ofdem OT Supporter

You can get managed or unmanaged Dedicated servers managed they look after alot of that stuff unmanaged its all yours.

3. autox

autox OT Supporter

its definitely a little more complicated than it usually is with a shared hosting plan, but it's SO worth it. I'm on liquidweb right now and they're amazing.

4. Vtec44

Vtec44 OG!

That's exactly what I was looking for. I'm not a security expert or have the time to follow up with all the latest patches on all the installed software, so the thought of doing that myself in addition to maintaining my own sites kind of deter me from going dedicated. But if managed server is taken care of by the hosts, then it would be awesome. For the most part, familiar with DOS and comfortable with shell commands in Linux.

5. biawokauns

biawokauns New Member

you should go with the managed, dedicated option.

6. rwdftw

rwdftw Guest

Same here,the best part about liquid web is the support....frankly thats the #1 thing you should look for when getting a dedicated server. Sure 1&1 is pretty cheap, but their support is crap, you'll spend a week getting a hold of the person.

With the liquidweb I had a DNS problem, so I sent it in, got a reply in 5 minutes, and then had a back and forth between myself and the support guy where I sent an email and a minute later I got a reply. This is email btw, their phone support is supposed to be even better(although I never had to use it)

7. biawokauns

biawokauns New Member

we use nat net for our dedicated boxes, but hope to move to engineyard soon