GUN Decock-Only vs. DAO

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by machine81, Sep 21, 2005.

1. machine81

machine81 New Member

What's the difference between a "decock-only" and a DAO? I'm new to handguns and am having a little trouble with the terminology.

I'm looking for a home-protection handgun. I don't want to break the bank (under $500), but I want a reliable gun. From what I've heard, the most reliable handgun is a revolver, but I'm concerned about the small capacity and width of the cylinder (I may want to use it as a conceal carry later on). For the most part though, I've been looking at pistols. I like Taurus, Magnum Research, and Ruger. Can anyone give suggestions as to revolver vs. pistol and manufacturer reliability?

2. striker754

striker754 Chillin

Decock means the gun will drop the hammer on a live round without discharging it. Found on DA/SA guns. Can fire either with the hammer down or hammer cocked. YOu can fire the gun by cocking the hammer then pulling trigger, or just pulling the trigger with the hammer down from the decocker.

If you are scared of carrying a cocked and loaded gun, get a DAO or DA/SA. On SA guns with external hammers you can lower the hammer down carefully onto a live round, be careful though, you let the hammer drop, your thumb is getting fucked up by the slide.

3. GlocksRock

GlocksRock Glock > You