A&P Decisions and choices

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Wty84, May 2, 2005.

1. Wty84

Wty84 Guest

I will be purchasing a digi cam here in the next couple weeks, but am still unsure. This camera will be primarilly used at racetracks and sporting events. I am assuming with this in mind the optical lens is very important, but at the same time so are megapixels. I have found the Powershot S1 IS has everything I need and want, but only 3.2 megapixels. Since I am a Newbie to all this I dont know if that would be fine. Once again this camera would be used just to take pictures at sporting events, and posted on the internet. I guess is what Im really trying to say is, what is a good baseline for optical lens and megapixels to go with for what I'm doing.

2. dtfromep

dtfromep New Member

If you want flexibility and expandability, look into new/used DSLR cameras like the Canon 300D/350D. There are countless lenses you can purchase with monster zooms & IS if you can afford it.

Otherwise, just read some reviews and pick the one at the feature/price point you are looking for. Are you planning on making large prints? If not, the S1 IS is probably a good camera if it fits the bill.

3. Wty84

Wty84 Guest

Yes the IS fits the bill. I will check out the Cannon 300D and 350D as well. Anyone else Im open to suggestions.

4. sony

sony Active Member

Don't get caught up into megapixels so much. 3 megapixels is good enough to get prints done (4x5-ish) maybe even a 8x10 at decent quality. You don't need anything more than 2 megapixels if your'e just going to do :riaa: online galleries either. It's just a marketing gimmick. :riaa:

5. Wty84

Wty84 Guest

Btt

6. sony

sony Active Member

My answer not good enough? :wtc:

7. Wty84

Wty84 Guest

No I definately appreciate everyones input. I think I am gonna go with the S1 IS. However, if I get into the photography and have funds I might look at a DSLR.

8. mucky

mucky .