MIL Deciding on a career

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by familyguy101, May 28, 2006.

1. familyguy101

familyguy101 New Member

I'm a fresh High School graduate. 18 years old and I've got no other career in mind except for a jet fighter pilot. I've done research, lots of it, and it seems like the navy is the way to go if I actually wanna fly and be given missions. Plus the tuition reimbursement is always good. I've got serious doubts about the military though and I was hoping some guys in here could give advice.

Can I trust recruiters?
    What branch should I go into if I want to fly?
    What string are attached to joining the service that I probably wont know about until it's too late?

My parents aren't for the military, but it's my life and i'm gonna join if I feel it's right. I'm willing to work hard to achieve my goal, and i'm not doing it for the money. It's mostly because I want to live a satifying life so I feel like I just gotta take a chance and see what happens/where I end up.

Thanks
    -Chris

2. familyguy101

familyguy101 New Member

Can't believe I forgot to mention this. I know I'll have to go ROTC. The navy website doesn't give all the info I want.

How long does ROTC last before I'm an officer?
    Do I get pilot training during ROTC or will I have to do that after?

3. ManinCamo

ManinCamo I wear big boy pants.

ROTC while you're a college student. 4 years. There are 2 and 3 year programs, but most do 4 - and you have to get your bachelors degree

Pilot training is very competitive. It is done after you commission.

4. Jyokker

Jyokker The trouser snake is very aggressive. It will corn

You have to put in four years of college (and get your bachelors) plus complete pilot training. If you have any physical short comings: vision, irregular heartbeat, asthma, or third eye, you will not be a pilot.
    as far as you can throw them. Talk to an officer recruiter not an enlisted recruiter.