DDR vs DDR2

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TekDragon, May 2, 2006.

  1. TekDragon

    TekDragon Guest

    I tried finding some info on this as I wanted to see if things had changed since 2004 and 2005 when the general concensus was that regular DDR is superior to DDR2 due to latency. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any recent articles, just a bunch of stuff from mid last year or earlier.

    Any have any information?

    I'm planning on building a new PC come next winter when Vista gets released. Athlon dual core, SLI GPU's, maybe even a physics unit. So if you have info on what WILL be the case between DDR and DDR2 in the next months, that would be helpful as well.
     
  2. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    technically, they run at the same speed...so buy whichever is cheaper. at this point u wont get much of a speed boost with DDR2. Btw, you're really going overboard with yer specs...save yer frickin money..
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't pick and choose. DDR and DDR2 have different sockets; you're stuck using whichever one your motherboard supports.

    DDR has faster access speed and slower transfer speed. DDR2 has slower access speed and faster transfer speed. Frankly, I'm not sure why they made DDR2 with slower access speed; the only thing I can think of is that the designers assumed faster motherboard clock speeds would counteract DDR2's bigger number of clock ticks between data request and data delivery.
     
  4. TekDragon

    TekDragon Guest

    Athlon X2 dual core is running at just above $300. For the SLI cards i'd only get one now and get the second when I needed a boost.

    I hardly see how that is overboard.
     
  5. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    With the next gen of AMD procs/chipsets they will be DDR2
     
  6. Pet3R

    Pet3R Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Higher latency is a trade-off when you have higher speeds on the DDR2. Just the way it works.
     
  7. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The last benchmarks I saw still had DDR2 outperforming DDR even with the higher latency.
     

Share This Page