SRS Day 3 of no smoking

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by nukegoat, Sep 8, 2006.

1. nukegoat

nukegoat New Member

It just "sort of" sucks. I am trying lots of various methods with the exception of nicotine replacement which I really don't feel like I need based on how much I smoked (probably 6 or 7 lights a day). I am mainly doing this because I feel like it's just an unhealthy coping method for stress... right now I have been having a hard time after work without a cigarette because it was the only way I really knew how to decompress. I started lifting weights again and that helps.

Anyways, even with almost 5 years free from drugs & alcohol, I haven't quit smoking and so I am starting to feel what its like to be new all over again.

I just was reinstituted as a mod around here but the forum seems pretty stable with a few exceptions. Any new frequent faces?

2. Metal

Metal Active Member

New Moderator right here nukegoat.. a pleasure to be working with you! Good Luck with kicking the smoking, I still haven't kicked the smoking either because I'm somewhat early in recovery.. like they say, dont make any major changes during the first few years.. my #1 priority is to stay sober and get to meetings and help others when I can. We do have a pretty stable forum here, I feel like this is my home forum, not necessarily offtopic because I spend the majority of my time in here. It feels good to be able to give back now, being sober, and be a moderator for the forum that has helped me in the past! :) Congrats nukegoat on being reinstated as a Mod here and I'll pat myself on the back for being instated as a Mod for the first time -- something I thought I'd never be able to do when I was using.