A&P D90 arrives today! I'm a noob...now what do I do?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by YourMomOnRyeBun, Jan 15, 2010.

1. YourMomOnRyeBun

YourMomOnRyeBun New Member

I finally made up my mind and decided to get the D90. Long story short, I used point on my credit card to "buy" the camera, so I decided to step up a model from the D5000 I had been looking at and just get the D90. People seem to give it a lot of love...so it must be a good camera.

I have CERTAINLY "over bought" for my skill level, I know that. But I want to learn (HAVE to learn) so that I can eventually use this camera to its potential.

So...what do I do?

Obviously take lots of pictures and practice.

Good books you could recommend?
    I will read the user manual, but those usually suck. (Electronics in general) I've seen a DVD video specifically for this camera, so I might check that out.

All I know is if I just pick it up and start taking pictures, all I will do is re-enforce bad habbits, or ignorant habbits like "Auto" mode. :mamoru: I've read a lot of the "rate my pics" threads on here so I am beginning to get a grasp of what makes a "good picture".

Feed me information! :noes:

I'm like Johnny 5! "Need more input"!

***Note the camera comes with the basic kit lens (18-100?). So I am also trying to develop my skills to the point where I can properly determine what lens I should buy. Probably need somethign that goes to the 200mm range for what I will use the camera for.

2. Wobistdu

Wobistdu Guest

good choice. the d90 is amazing.

when i got mine, i read this guide about 10 times and went through the menus on the camera so many times. i wanted to know every setting and what i wanted

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d90/users-guide/index.htm

The shitty manual that comes with it sucks. I bought a guide off amazon but I only read a few pages of it. Ken's guide plus using it are all you need.

also, buy this book.