A&P d700 users

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by legendr34, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    anyone of you guys experience underexposure when shooting raw? it appears to be a persistent issue for me. JPG is fine of course.
     
  2. 3x

    3x New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    22,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hella bro*cal
    girth is on his way
     
  3. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    :x:
     
  4. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    what conditions? the D700 is exactly like the D300 w/ the firmware update. :dunno:
     
  5. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    actually, i just tried it, its just with LR, using NX is fine, but NX sucks
     
  6. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    I hate NX
     
  7. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
  8. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    so its underexposed in LR? :dunno:
     
  9. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    not only underexposed by the colors are off
     
  10. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    it's not just the D700, it's lightroom. It always changes my pics too and I have a Nikon D50. It's actually pretty annoying.

    Sometimes I actually see it show the normal shot, but then it switches to the under exposed view.

    Unfortunately, I don't know what to do about it :hs:
     
  11. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    guess we have to live with it until adobe fixes the issues. i will never use capture nx to edit anything
     
  12. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I think someone explained it to me as Lightroom reading the RAW file without any kind of color settings applied to it or something, so what you get is the exact raw file.

    If that's the case, it seems like there should be a way to disable that shit.
     
  13. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Yeah, havent really noticed that issue. I also GRILL my histogram when Im shooting to make sure it's somewhere close to it though. The LCD on my D70 trained me not to trust the screen alone.
     
  14. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    you know when you select the image for import, LR shows the color exposure, but once imported, it underexposes it
     
  15. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    man, life is tough with a d70 LCD :hs: i only check the histogram for clipping highlight. i can't read the rest well enough
     
  16. NauticaX

    NauticaX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Maryland
  17. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Yeah, D700 screen spoils me. I looked at my friends D70 screen after I had mine for about 2 months :eek4: I was like "Is there something wrong with your screen"
     
  18. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,430
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    When I process my stuff on LR and export, I usually put them on flickr. The next thing I do is go to one of the other computers around the house and check the color on other screens. I want to make sure the tones, colors, saturation, and contrast are close to what I saw on my screen and are somewhat close to normal.
     
  19. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
  20. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    lol, i did the same thing when i compared my cousins d70s vs my old d80. and then i compared my old d80 and the d700, i though the screen was broken. i can't imagine comparing the d70 lcd to the d700
     
  21. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is the program...I have Adobe Photoshop Elements 5.0 at work at the blues all turn purple when I open all photos.

    I need to fix it, but I get lazy and don't care.
     
  22. Mighty_Zeus

    Mighty_Zeus Guest

    Having the Camera Raw Profiles for LR will fix it. It does some other really cool shit too. I love it. It's a god send.

    I had the same issues being VERY frustrated because my pictures seemed to come out under exposed consistently. After I got the camera raw for LR, I applied it's settings to a portrait session that I did, and they were PERFECT, just how they were supposed to be.
     
  23. pawis

    pawis werd em up

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City
    gah, i always thought i was alone with this, with LR automatically doing its thing with only seeing the raw for a split moment.

    my computer with LR is down atm but i think under Library there is a reset button that reverts it without the adjustments LR decides to do on its own
     
  24. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bottom line: NX2 is a better raw converter than Adobe. Nikon doesn't publish their raw format, so every other company has to guess and develop their raw converters around that guess. If you want the best results, use NX2, despite its shitty interface.
     
  25. 1.8

    1.8 Guest

    Why do you guys use lightroom over photoshop?
     

Share This Page