A&P d700 guys question!

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by jared_IRL, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    So I kept reading about how super duper the matrix meter on this camera is, so I've been giving it a shot the past week or so....

    Any of you guys have an issue where all pics shot with a flash are underexposed by a stop? It's fucking weird.

    Every single one of em has a histogram that stops just higher than 50%. 1 stop exactly in LR makes all of em perfect...

    I've zeroed out all of the other settings on the camera, and if I dial in +1 exposure comp. it looks great in camera...

    It's only with the matrix meter and the flash in the hotshoe...


    Thoughts?
     
  2. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    Is ADR on? shooting menu>active D-lighting
     
  3. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    yeah, it is - 'auto'


    Is this what's doing it? how?
     
  4. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    I forget how it works exactly. I think it underexposes your shot to preserve highlights. If you shoot jpeg, it boosts them back up. NX2 will boost it too automatically. Its actually pretty effective. I've used it a few times in harsh mid-day sun. It preserved the highlights pretty well. It "can" cause a little noise though in under exposed areas... but then again under exposed areas are always noisy if you bump them up too much.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2010
  5. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    yes I think this is the problem. turn it off and you should be good to go.
     
  6. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    ya this was one of those things that troubled me at first too. I would open the raw files in LR. It would load the "preview" embedded jpeg and it would look great... .05 seconds later it would load the actual raw file and it would look like shit. Took me a while to figure it out.
     
  7. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    ADR blows, messes with the raw files too
     
  8. SkiMax

    SkiMax OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    26,759
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Chicago
    dude, i was wondering wtf was wrong with this! mine was on auto as well :o
     
  9. bbp

    bbp bike watching troll king OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    30,676
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Does that explain why it's only doing it with flash?
     
  10. Etherized

    Etherized Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    6,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, I don't like ADR either.
     
  11. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    It probably happened to all his photos just to a lesser extent. Because it was set to auto, the more dynamic range it encounters the more it will apply the effect.
     

Share This Page