A&P D3/D700 guys; Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by adamlewis88, May 29, 2009.

  1. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I know its high ISO, I know its low light...

    But is it normal?

    Converted using LR. Does Capture NX do a better job?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    Part of the problem is your white balance is off. you need to fix that... and yeah, the noise is just from an ISO setting that was thrown in for marketing purposes to compete with Canon's high ISO performers. Step back down to 1600-3200 and you'll be ok.
     
  3. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    If the WB is off, thats a Nikon thing. I just shoot it as it is. The MkIII doesnt have a problem in the same room :hsugh:

    Either way, I dont remember seeing the banding on the demo 25600 shots from the D3..
     
  4. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    And looking at it again, thats pretty much what the room looks like when its lit by one incandescent bulb...
     
  5. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,726
    Likes Received:
    51
    adam,

    was this shot underexposed and brought up in post? I've seen banding in high iso stuff when the exposure is pushed in raw, and it's VERY similar to this. and the banding is largely in the mid-tones, which would make sense if this were the case...

    Try intentionally shooting at that high iso and getting a mild overexposure, does it still happen?

    Have you shot more than the one shot at this iso? they all like this?
     
  6. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    ...hmm... i see what you mean. I just saw a noisy ass photo with a horrific wb issue. I didn't notice the banding until you mentioned it. Noinks, get in here!
     
  7. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I didnt bring this one up at all. It was just an import in LR, add some NR, and then export. No matter how much NR I applied though, it still bands. Could it be a LR issue? Do I just need to use capture NX? Ill shoot some more tomorrow. Dead tired tonight :(
     
  8. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Haha it is indeed a noisy ass photo with bad WB but I wasnt trying to get everything 'right'. Im just trying to evaluate the camera.
     
  9. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    straight off cam, d700 iso 25,6 converted in lr

    [​IMG]


    in lr with some quick editing, and by quick I mean a/wb, a/tone and nr sliders pushed to the right..

    [​IMG]
     
  10. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    a little smaller for easier comparison

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    oh and heres the exif

    Camera:Nikon D700
    Exposure:0.001 sec (1/1250)
    Aperture:f/5.6Focal Length:28 mm
    Exposure:-0.50ISO Speed:25600
    Exposure Bias:0 EVFlash:No Flash
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2009
  11. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    Yeah, i'm not seeing any noticeable banding in Wrong1's photos... You might have an issue, Adam. :sad2:
     
  12. Etherized

    Etherized Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    6,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Here's straight out of the camera, no editing shot in JPG standard.. I tried a few different backgrounds and couldn't get it to band like that. at iso 25600
    [​IMG]


    looks like tinypic resized

    I can see some faint banding, but nothing NR couldn't help. I would never shoot at iso 25600 anyway.
     
  13. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Its not a huge issue really. Its a loaner camera that I got from my Nikon rep just to try it out. I wonder what firmware version its using...Ill have to look.
    I also wonder if there might just be a difference between the D3 and D700
     
  14. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Well, turns out its using FW v1.00 ...
    Sounds like its time for an upgrade haha. Im charging the battery now so I can do that.
     
  15. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt that a FW upgrade will fix your issue, IIRC that's a hardware issue.

    But I guess we'll find out in a day or so.
     
  16. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl::rofl:

    That response belong in 2004
     
  17. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Its fixed banding in other cameras Ive had.

    Also, for shits and giggles, theres a guy on POTN who developed a NR action for MkIII cameras.

    This is 6400 +2EC (so effectively 25,600) before and after..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Still trying to tweak it some. He gets better results than I do. However, for 25,600 on a camera that doesnt even have it as an option, thats pretty amazing.
     
  18. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    And heres 12,800. Same deal. MkIII


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Mutombo

    Mutombo New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Those last two for the Mk III look pretty good :cool:
     
  20. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    for the most part, but look at the banding across the midtones.
     
  21. ittech

    ittech "If You're Not Part of the Solution, There's Good OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    link to that action? I'd never consider using ISO that high but that could be interesting to play with
     
  22. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA

Share This Page