Cutting Weight for Wrestling

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Seandq, Nov 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Seandq

Seandq Usertext for Rent

Sorry if this has been done twenty times before.

I'm in between subs at the moment so I can't search.
    -------------------------------------------------------------
    My name's Sean and I'm 15. I'm 5'4 and that's likely as tall as I'm getting. I'm a sophomore and I'm weighing in at 163 lbs and wrestling at the 171 lb class.

And I don't want to say I'm getting killed but I've certainly wrestled much better before.

The main issue is I need to cut weight. Someone at my height would be appropriate at around 116lbs, which is around 50 lbs away. It's definitely not impossible but I need help.

I know this isn't the Diet forum per se, but I need to know how to get stronger too. I've got a gym membership that's hanging unused at the moment and would love to get back there as soon as I could.

I know you're supposed to not lose weight then try to gain muscle, instead try to change fat into muscle -- but my issue is that might just give me more weight at the current point in time.

So what do you recommend to cut 50lbs of basically fat (body fat tests come back soon I believe) and to gain some lean muscle?

cliffs: i'm 15, 5'4, 161lbs, i need to get down to 116 for wrestling, but i need to gain some lean muscle.

2. Tetragrammaton

Tetragrammaton New Member

holy balls dude, why not wrestle at like 135 - 145 with more muscle mass? smaller dudes are scrappy as shit so height shouldn't be a factor

3. Guitar_fool

Guitar_fool Guest

I doubt you have 50 lbs of fat on you. just cut weight in a smart fashion eating less (not stopping all together), running before you go to bed and youll be fine. and besides making weight doesnt make you a good wrestler technique does. learn the technique and it shouldnt matter what weight class you wrestle at.

4. Seandq

Seandq Usertext for Rent