Cutting experts-- a few specific questions for ya:

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by PaddoK, Oct 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaddoK

PaddoK Some dolphins get massacred, some dolphins get blo

Okay, I've never done a real cut before, but I've been bulking for the past 6 months. I have a back injury now keeping me from deadlifting /squatting fully for a little while, so I figured why not try and cut. I was skinnyfat before I started to bulk and still skinnyfat now (with some more muscle). When I started lifting I was 6'5" ~220 lbs, now I'm 6'5" ~250lbs. S/B/D is 315/225/375
    Here it goes:

1) I can't seem to find a reliable way for calculating maitenence calories. I'd estimate I'm in the high / mid 20's for BF. (I have no idea but I have small moobs and a belly) Typical skinnyfat guy. Looks sorta fat unclothed but normal clothed. I do a lot of walking too, probably 40 minutes a day to and from classes just spent walking. Can someone give me a rough target for maitenence? or do I have to just sorta play around with calories and see what works?

2 ) How many calories are burned by working out? I know it varies, if I can't approximate that, how can I work my diet around it?

3) During a cut, is there any point to doing 5x5 and max effort lifts, seeing as how I shouldn't be able to grow / gain muslce in a calory defecit? Or should I just do reps and work on getting my HR up?

2. hootpie

hootpie New Member

1) I'm a fan of what Chris3G recommended and that's starting at a level of calories that you think would be a deficit. Analyze your weight loss after a week or two of it, then adjust your calories accordingly so that you are losing ~1lb/week.

2) Someone posted a chart a while ago that showed calories burned for different types of workouts (ie weightlifting, cardio) and I think weightlifting was estimated as 500-600, but I would take that with a grain of salt.