Customizable database/work order software...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Skoles, Jun 29, 2005.

1. Skoles

Skoles Guest

I'm a graphic designer for a sign company and we are trying to streamline our system of logging jobs. I in no way have a hand in this, but I'm trying to help the company out by just throwing some alternatives out there.

We use a program called Cyrius (sp?) for salesmen to enter the jobs. Things like customer info/dimentions/material/description/notes/costs are the typical info. These are given to us, we design it on a layout template we made in Illustrator and all dept. generally go by that for info.

We need to create more in-depth order forms to prevent mistakes & hang-ups from the layout process all the way out to the fabrication & install deparments. Including things like paint/vinyl colors, finishing, materials. They Cyrius system we use doesn't cut it and is bug-ridden and horrible in general (from what I hear). They are looking around at different companies that offer software that try to do what we need. I don't know what they've looked at but I've always heard of FileMaker Pro being great and very customizable. Things like keeping track of file locations, fonts, images & previews of the jobs are big points in the software package they're looking for.

Is there something out there that anyone can recommend or would FileMaker be something worth looking into (free trial download).

2. kingtoad

kingtoad Active Member OT Supporter

Sep 2, 2003