curses gateway...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mdancool, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. mdancool

    mdancool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i have a desktop computer from gateway.. only a year and a half old and when i try to boot it up it just sits at the gateway splash screen! won't let me into bios or anything!! I unplugged everything from the mother board and tried to start it up again and it just just sits at the splash screen? Is my motherboard toast? or am i just forgetting something?! Thanks!
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    reset cmos.
     
  3. mdancool

    mdancool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    how
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I just told you WHAT to do, since you are obviously FAR TOO RETARDED to use google... Therefore, you need to remove yourself from this equation. Take the computer to someone that either knows what they're doing or has a reasonable ability to even attempt a quick search when given the appropriate keywords.
     
  5. mdancool

    mdancool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    or you could stop being a dick. most people don't get offended when they are asked how to do something. It would have taken you far less time to just tell me how than to write up your worthless rant about using google.
     
  6. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    whoa!

    this is how you reset it on my giga-byte mobo.
    there's a battery somewhere on your mobo
    next to it there are two pins together that are not connected
    to reset the CMOS, you take a metal object and connect (or short) the pins so current can flow.
    that should reset the CMOS. check your gateway manual/MB diagram for info before you do this. also, obviously, unplug your computer and hold the power button down for 5 seconds before touching anything. touch the power supply or other metal inside the case so static electricity from your body doesn't fry any components. it's even better to wear a wrist strap.
     
  7. mdancool

    mdancool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet thanks man i'll give it a whirl!
     

Share This Page