WEB CSS problem w/ IE 6

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by JEWbacca, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. JEWbacca

    JEWbacca =/

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    I'm having an issue with getting IE6 to render a page design correctly, Firefox, Safari and IE7 all do it fine :noes: ... but the thing is the majority of internet users still use IE6 :o

    The problem is that IE6 creates a giant hole in the middle of the page, where the content should be. Here is what it looks like in IE6
    [​IMG]

    and here is what it looks like in all other browsers.
    [​IMG]

    I'm thinking it could be something wrong in the CSS DIV class, here is what i'm using:
    Code:
    .content-index {
    	BACKGROUND: url(/images/content_index.jpg) #cccccc no-repeat center top; FLOAT: none; MARGIN-LEFT: auto; WIDTH: 762px; MARGIN-RIGHT: auto; HEIGHT: 456px
    if its not that then it has to be something with the image map:
    Code:
    <DIV class=content-index><IMG height=456 src="Cybertrak_files/clear.gif" 
    width=762 useMap=#Map border=0> <MAP id=Map name=Map><AREA shape=RECT 
      alt="Fleet Program" coords=105,185,278,235 
      href="http://natelevy.com/fleet"><AREA shape=RECT alt="Consumer Program" 
      coords=465,187,696,233 href="http://natelevy.com/consumer"></MAP></DIV>
    <CENTER>
    any ideas on how to remedy this would be of great help.
     
  2. JEWbacca

    JEWbacca =/

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
  3. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,924
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Wrong. Majority of internet users currently use FireFox. IE6 is out about 2% shy of FireFox.

    Is that generated code?

    Most of those values in your content-index element aren't even needed. Post the URL or full source so I can tinker with it.
     
  4. JEWbacca

    JEWbacca =/

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Well, either way its close.. http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp.. :hsd:

    The link is above (in the previous post), any ideas you might have would be much appreciated. :bowdown:
     
  5. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,924
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Your code makes me want to shoot myself in the foot to offset the pain in my eyes and brain. :hsd:

    Anyway, delete these two items in your HTML and it should work.

    Code:
    <div class="side-blank-1">&nbsp;</div>
    <div class="side-blank-2">&nbsp;</div>
    
     
  6. JEWbacca

    JEWbacca =/

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    :bowdown: save the foot. it works. thanks.
     
  7. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,924
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :bigthumb:
     
  8. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    :bowdown: KT is a coding GOD.
     
  9. JEWbacca

    JEWbacca =/

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    while i your attention... any thoughts/ critiques regarding the design?

    one thing in particular... what do you think about the 'on-click' drop down menu? example being the 'About G3 Consumer' or 'Support" button on this page http://natelevy.com/consumer/
     
  10. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,924
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I'd rather use mouseover menus rather than onclick menus. Onclick dynamic menus don't sit right with me.

    I'm not sure if the website you are showing us right now is a final product, because the rest of this post goes into the content of your site.

    Although in my opinion, black schemed websites seem to be overplayed and don't accomplish much for me, my critiques aren't in your design, but in your method of accomplishing things.

    Your homepage for example. The only text on your homepage that is of importance is the call to attention across the top "register and activate your new etc...". The rest of the content is based on images, when you can use text, which will benefit your website much more.

    The two main images on your front page, I'd immediately change to text, and use the yellow/blue images as backgrounds. The thumbnails below could use text, rather than blending the images with the text itself. You also seem to be using the transparent, 1 pixel width clear.gif as a spacer. This is very annoying. You can easily accomplish what you need without spacer images in CSS.

    http://natelevy.com/what_is_gps.php
    This page needs to use text. Not images. You need to stop doing this ASAP.

    Same with these pages:
    http://natelevy.com/login.php
    http://natelevy.com/faq.php
    http://natelevy.com/profile.php
    http://natelevy.com/contact.php

    You also need to stop relying heavily on image maps. 100% of the things you've done on this website can be accomplished without the use of image maps. Although I am very anti-imagemapish, they do at times serve their use... but not in a way your site is using them.

    I think this site falls under the category of being "redone". It needs a complete revamp. Switching your text-based content to text instead of images will help your site a lot.
     

Share This Page