CSci Graduates..what'd you do??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rengo, Nov 10, 2004.

1. rengo

rengo Are you ready to rock, BK broiler!?

Posted this in Offtopic for reason..I was silly to hope for a response..this might be a more fitting place for it.

I started out liking programming, but now that I'm almost done with school, I'm not sure if I want to spend the rest of my days doing it. Anyone in this boat? It's not as appealing to me as it once was. The only programming language that remotely interests me right now is Perl & PHP, but I have no experience with either.

Even worse is the fact that programming jobs are very sparse where I live, and I'm just basically stuck with whatever I can land..

I guess I could apply for an IS job and probably beat out the IS majors applying...because that stuff is a little more interesting to me.

WTF to do? :dunno:

2. korrupshun

korrupshun New Member

i can tell you that you aren't alone....just graduated with a CIS degree, feel like vomiting any time i look at code, and prolly will never land a job that requires programming knowledge (theory of actually).....me personally im looking at other fields in the industry that hold my attention (similar to what you are doing)

the bright side is that most positions dont really care about your knowledge, they just like to see that you stuck through 4 years of VOLUNTARY schooling. so basically all college will get you is a guarantee that you aren't a quitter (or close to a guarantee). so go do whatever makes you happy and leave coding behind if you want, the degree will still help you in ways you didnt imagine :)

3. Penguin Man

Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

If you like IT or IS, you could always do a one-year certificate program or something and work in that field. If you like Perl/PHP/web design, since you know all the theory, it's not too tough to just pick it up and start doing it.

4. CyberBullets