CrossOver is a MUST HAVE application.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxmac/

    Your Windows Applications, Seamlessly Integrated on Mac OS X

    [​IMG] CrossOver Mac allows you to install many popular Windows applications and games on your Intel OS X Mac. CrossOver includes an easy to use, single click interface, which makes installing Windows software simple and fast. Once installed, your application integrates seamlessly in OS X. Just click and run your application directly from the OS X Finder. Clicking a Windows file or document — including email attachments — will launch the appropriate Windows program, allowing you to work on the files. Best of all, you do it all easily and affordably, without needing a Microsoft operating system license.
    Adding new Windows software is easy. Just place your install CD in your Intel Mac, and CrossOver will recognize it and offer to begin the installation process. CrossOver then completes the installation and configures your application to run on your Mac. That's all there is to it.





    I'm running all sorts of PC programs on my MBP. You MUST get this. :bowdown:
     
  2. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    So... could I run uTorrent with this?
     
  3. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    I've had it installed for a few months now and I haven't used it once :o
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I installed this at the same time as Parallels and VMWare Fusion B2, but because I only needed it for two or three applications, this really accomplished exactly what I needed.. so I deleted Parallels and VMWare.'

    Visio is great..
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Haven't tried, but worth a shot.
     
  6. 5SpeedSER

    5SpeedSER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    26,623
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    South Florida
    the beta worked quite well... albeit slow, but not worse than how VPC was on a PPC machine. Im sure the final release is 11ty billion times better
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Final release of CrossOver? I'm using xover 6.. it's a final.

    Or are you speaking of VMWare B2?
     
  8. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    so if I'm not on an intel mac, it's not worth shit right? :hsugh:
     
  9. dpixel8

    dpixel8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2001
    Messages:
    48,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI Go Bucky!!!!!!!
    is it an EMU?
     
  10. dpixel8

    dpixel8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2001
    Messages:
    48,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI Go Bucky!!!!!!!

    mostly
     
  11. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    what are you talking about? crossover is great for intel macs. apple had a seminar at my school yesterday about virtualization with macs, and cross over was one of the products they used and it worked great. i cant wait to download it and install office
     
  12. Mach D

    Mach D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,091
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earf
    reading > you
     
  13. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    .... oops haha :wiggle:

    but i do still stand by it being a great program
     
  14. DjShiznit

    DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,963
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    PNW
    Yes, uTorrent works :hs:
     
  15. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    so why would one use this over parallels?
     
  16. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    well first, it doesn't require a virtualized operating system, which means that you dont need to go and buy a copy of windows to run windows programs. this virtualizes the program only, so it doesnt take up as much memory when virtualizing a whole operating system
     
  17. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    It seemed like the version i have only supported like 15 programs, maybe I should give it another shot.
     
  18. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    There is a big article in the current MacWorld about the differences between Parallels, Bootcamp, CrossOver, and VMWare...

    I haven't read it yet, but it looks like it covers alot...
     
  19. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    As Hurley says, you don't have to install an OS.. so you don't need to purchase a copy of the OS, you don't have to allocate 256MB+ of ram and ALL the HDD space (~8GB+ on average), and give up other resources..

    CrossOver emulates an operating system in the background. When you double-click the application icon, it loads the application as if you were running in windows..

    Fantastic.. in my opinion. :o
     
  20. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not an emulator. It's a windows compatable API layer. Ever heard of WINE? (Wine Is Not an Emulator)
     
  21. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
  22. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    damn intel chips. :o
    I want one. :o
     
  23. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to try getting uTorrent and Foobar2000 working in this next time i'm in OSX.Couldn't get Darwine working :wtc:
     
  24. Mach D

    Mach D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,091
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earf
    i am so utterly scared of this program. i used an imac for 3 years and the thing ran beautifully the whole time. my pc however slowed down to all shit every month that passed, needed 2 reformattings and had all around issues. thats the last thing i want to do on my mbp
     
  25. LifeBurnsFaster

    LifeBurnsFaster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    13,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    :cool: i'll give it a try
     

Share This Page