Critique Me! (Progress Pics Included)

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by 240 KA-T, Oct 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 240 KA-T

240 KA-T New Member

I was hoping to get some comments/criticism/whatever on my workout regime, nutrition, supplementation to properly acheive my goals. If this is too
    long a read please answer the questions I have towards the bottom.

History: I have been lifting weights for a couple years on and off but have now recently (~3 months ago) started dedicating more time and energy to
    my acheive my goals.
    Goals: I hope to enter a competition next year. I wish to avoid using anabolic steroids or NGH to get where I want. But as of right now I want
    to prove to myself I can shed the bodyfat I have accumulated over the previous years of bad diet and relaxed "bulking". I am focusing on cutting while
    keeping as much (or building more if possible) muscle. But I would say I rank losing BF % the most, keeping/building lean muscle runner up.

Workout: I go to the gym 5 days a week and lift for no more than ~50 minutes. Much of my mindset and exercises are derived from AST sports science "Max-OT"
    philosophy, but not all. I train different muscle groups with compound exercises of generally 2-3 sets of intense weight. I shoot for ~6-8
    (varies on the exercise) reps and finish my last rep close to failure. If I get past the certain number, I bump up the weight.

Cardio: Not till the past couple of months have I gotten serious about cardio but as for now I am doing it 3x a week, after my workout. I either use
    the treadmill or elliptical and go for an intense ~20-25 minute session in which I burn ~350 cal. I have read a bit about fat-burn HR and HIT philosophies
    but until I learn more I am sticking with this intense short-period cardio.

Diet: Although I have not measured my maintenence calorie intake, I have cut back significantly on my daily intake and bumped the