WEB Creating your won web server

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Comtrad, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

    at my job we are creating a couple of new websites that we want to host from our office. We have the server we want to get configured (custom build), but what kind of software would we need to do this (wanting to probably run a linux server). Are there any good online tutorials?
     
  2. 2ofdem

    2ofdem OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    114,853
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    aus.vic.mel
    Youll need LAMP you may need to install other extensions depending on what the site is written in. Honestly if you are asking these questions $10 a month is probably money well spent hosting the site somewhere else.
     
  3. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

    That's what I think too.
    "I don't want to pay someone else to host it if we can do it here." :rolleyes:

    The sites are both zen carts so nothing fancy is needed.

    However this would also be good practice as I want to eventually start hosting my own sites as well.
     
  4. 2ofdem

    2ofdem OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    114,853
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    aus.vic.mel
    Lamp will do everything you need then theres plenty of information around about it, it stands for Linux Apache MySQL and PHP.

    And its always good to be able to learn on someone elses time and coin :)
     
  5. 2ofdem

    2ofdem OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    114,853
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    aus.vic.mel
    Oh yeah youll need a static IP and a decent router/internet connection also keep in mind most non commercial grade services have not much upstream bandwidth which is fairly important for a webserver.
     
  6. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

    We have a T1 coming in, and there are only 6 computer that use it, so I don't think connection should be a problem. Wish we had fiber coming in though. lol
     
  7. Black98GPGT

    Black98GPGT im back....

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chester
    We've got fiber at my house and where I work:bigthumb:
     
  8. Comtrad

    Comtrad Guest

    yeah, can't get FIOS here yet. :wtc:
     
  9. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    You can run servers with dynamic IPs if you set the ttl on the dns looks ups really small in case of changes. I've done it successfully before.
     

Share This Page