Creating a VLAN or something to seperate 1 set of computers from another on my LAN

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Slash, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. Slash

    Slash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a workstation outside where I repair customer computers. However I realized the other day that since we are all on the same network connection, infected customer machines could take advantage of my "home" network connection status on my main PCs and infect me.

    I want to seperate them so that even if i pinged an IP on my personal machines that I would be unable to.

    I have a DGL-4300 as my main router (connected to WAN) and a WRT54G with DD-WRT as the client bridge for the workstation.

    let me know!
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    If you are repairing computers you should be able to figure it out from the dd-wrt docs, google, ect.

    Seems to me the best solution would be to just set any machine that plugs into the bridge into the vlan.
     
  3. Slash

    Slash New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    well.. i guess ive never set up a VLAN before... any tips?
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds more like what you need is subnet router with a proper hardware firewall, not a VLAN. It sounds like you've already got the first part, assuming your DMZ bridge is configured to use a different subnet than your internal network, but whether DD-WRT lets you configure by-port and by-IP rules, I have no idea; I've never played with it before.
     
  5. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    You want internet access, but separation from your main network?
     
  6. kazimer

    kazimer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    27,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Doesn't ddwrt have a vlan option in the configs?
    If so assign one of your hardwired ports to a new vlan and test if the routing is separate.
    I have only played with vlans on Cisco products.
     
  7. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    use like pfsense or something and create an opt interface setup DHCP on that interface run it to the switch for your repair crap.
     
  8. rawko

    rawko OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get two dhcp servers kicking on your lan with each having its own switch but both using the same internet connection. Make it so each one puts out ips on a different subnet with a netmask of 255.255.255.0 and voila.
     
  9. FormulaLS1

    FormulaLS1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you don't understand VLANs

    Why don't you just hang a 2nd Linksys or something off you current setup?

    You would be double natting but it shouldn't be an issue to just download updates etc.
     
  10. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    This only works if your router can support multiple IPs, and even so you will need some sort of ACLs to deny traffic between the subnets.

    If the router only supports a single IP then one of the subnets won't work, it won't be able to send traffic.
     
  11. rawko

    rawko OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    im talking about using two routers which act as dhcp servers. you dont need to worry about acl or firewall rules. Just two cheap linksys dsl routers will work fine unless more control is desired.

    internet - modem - switch - 2 dhcp/routers 4 port switches
     
  12. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :ugh:
     

Share This Page