crappy monitor quality?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Woodmaster, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. Woodmaster

    Woodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brasil
    I just plugged my monitor back in after having to use the cable for something else (19" dell flat lcd) and the quality I noticed looks considerably worse than it was before. This happened when I first used the monitor last year and set it up, forgot what ot told me to do last time. :wtc: Here's a screencap. No big deal but the quality is much less like a crt and there is scan lines over images and what not.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    digital or analog?
     
  3. Woodmaster

    Woodmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brasil
    digital
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe you plugged the cable into something that had a dirty socket, and now it's not conducting well?

    Only thing I can think of.

    EDIT: By the way, Jolly was asking "VGA or DVI". Can you re-answer the question?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no I was NOT asking VGA or DVI. I was asking ANALOG or DIGITAL, and he answered my question.

    This is an important destinction because VGA is always analog, but DVI can be both analog and digital.

    I needed to know if he was receiving an analog signal, because that would mean he needs to do the "auto-adjust" feature of the lcd. However, digital signal does not need that.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, fine. (ahem)

    "Jolly was asking 'Analog or Digital', NOT 'VGA or DVI', so please don't confuse the two questions. Just because your monitor uses a DVI cable doesn't mean it's actually using the digital component, so please double-check what the onscreen display says it's using."

    - - -

    The irony is that even though I misinterpreted you, you were still provoked into clarifying yourself enough that nobody else could also misinterpret you. Which is what my evil plan was, all along.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    so your evil plan is to intentionally be a dumbass that doesn't know what he's talking about, but pretending he does? Shocking!
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    My evil plan is to stop at nothing to teach you to be clear the first time you post a reply, instead of the third.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  10. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    looks fine to me :dunno:
     
  11. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it were visible to us in the screencap then it wouldn't be his monitor.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which means it's almost certainly the cable, or the cable connection. It COULD be the screen itself, but the normal failure mode for LCDs is color stripes, not ghosting.
     

Share This Page