CPU's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bobalu, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. Bobalu

    Bobalu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the nati
    Can someone please explain why my cpu (AMD Turion 64) is capable of running at 1.8 ghz only runs at 800mhz (HP pavilion) from the manufacturer and no way to change.
    My older computer an Acer with the same processor runs at 1.6ghz.

    Im in the process of getting a new laptop and with all the different cpu's available im just looking for one that im going to get the best performance out of from a manufactures prebuilt.

    Any comments appreciated thanks :)
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    modern CPUs (particularly those in laptops) can be throttled back when under light loads to save power.

    If you have a CPU meter open and then stress the CPU to 100% you will see the clock speed jump up to 1.8
     
  3. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    its all a 'power saver' feature, im not sure if you can disable it or not, but its like a multi-displacement engine, the power is there when you need it, just no sense on running on 8 cylinders when idling at the desktop :big grin:
     
  4. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    it is possible to disable in BIOS, but most manufactured machines dont give you the option in their spartan BIOSes
     
  5. Bobalu

    Bobalu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the nati
    I know thats what i thought but i checked it and it was still the same

    my acer constantly runs at 1.6 and my hp has a cpu meter and it's at almost 100% all the time at 800mg mhz (vista) anyone think its just hp maybe??

    can anyone recommend me a decent cpu to look into...i know dual core 2 duo a good but what ghz is decent
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    are you sure the acer and hp have the same chips?
    what are the model numbers of those chips?

    1.6ghz, 1.8ghz = clock speed/frequency
    most turions have 800mhz = hypertransport
     

Share This Page