CPU Usage hangs at ~60% with no programs taking it.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by asdfbunk, May 31, 2006.

  1. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,805
    Likes Received:
    7
    Task manager shows up to 60% CPU usage with none of the programs on the list using it. System Idle Processes still says 99, even with the CPU usage at 60%.

    It's unlikely it's a software problem, as I've tried a format and a different harddrive.

    I'm wondering what types of hardware problems could cause something like this? I'm thinking it might be the RAM, but I'm not sure.

    btw, this problem happened over night, with the computer running normally(left on overnight) and acting up in the morning.
     
  2. Kirby McSpic

    Kirby McSpic New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    45,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
    I got rid of it by reformatting.

    Now my PC runs quietly.
     
  3. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,805
    Likes Received:
    7
    That was one of the first things I tried, as I said a format did not solve it, but thanks for the suggestion.
     
  4. codemartinet

    codemartinet lucky strikes

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newark, DE
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    post screen shots of your processes tab under task manager
     
  6. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,805
    Likes Received:
    7
    No it's not a virus, unless this virus holds itself somewhere other than the HDD, it would be very very very VERY unlikely.


    edit

    pic

    [​IMG]
     
  7. MR.6690

    MR.6690 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    aaawww lurka aaww
     
  8. Bigrk

    Bigrk Guest

    i hate viruses
     
  9. codemartinet

    codemartinet lucky strikes

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    i suggest you try a virus scan if you haven't already - KHALMNPR looks kinda sketchy and you would really be surprised how many viruses the average computer has just from surfing the internet (*cough* with IE *cough*)
     
  10. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,805
    Likes Received:
    7
    Virus scan with like, 3 seperate scanners along with 3 online scanners. All found nothing except for some tracking cookies. Also I browse with firefox as you can see in the pic.

    KHALMNPR is simply the Logitech custom key monitor(I've disabled it before, and custom keys failed to work), as I have a Logitech keyboard/mouse combo.
     

Share This Page