CPU socket question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kieffer87, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I'm confused will a socket 478 cpu fit in a socket 775 mobo?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    um no.
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    the number is referring to the number of pins/contacts, so definately no.
     
  4. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    yeah, it will fit just fine. There are fewer pins in the 478cpu, so you will have some extra holes but the motherboard will sort all of that out.

    if it gives some resistance going in, just apply a liberal amount of thermal grease to the pins on the proc and also in the socket itself, then give it a firm tap with a hammer wrapped in a dishtowel
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go be an asshole in the main forum. People come here for help.

    Maybe you're unaware, but there used to be a socket standard called Super Socket 7 that had more holes than Socket 7 did, but it still could use Socket 7 CPUs. It's perfectly reasonable for the guy to have thought all Pentium 4's could fit on all Pentium 4 motherboards.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Didn't they reverse how they did the pins with 478 and 775? Like the CPU used to have the pins but now the socket does?
     
  7. +(ll.ll)+

    +(ll.ll)+ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    14,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    No.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes.
    FC-PGA478 = Flip-chip pin-grid array
    FC-LGA775 = Flip-chip land-grid array
     
  9. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    no CPU i've ever installed required anything more than very gentle pressure to get it to seat properly.

    WTF??? A hammer?? Surly this is a joke post. You can't be serious.
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Ignore him, he's being a douche bag.
     
  11. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    jesus fuck, you guys are a bunch of tight asses :o
     
  12. Hathegkla

    Hathegkla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    29,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland
    lol, I use a sledge hammer
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someday you'll need technical info from someone, and deliberate misinformation will not amuse you.
     
  14. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    ok, how about this one...

    my pc will not power on so I assume it is the power supply. I take the PSU out of there and put it into my spare PC and it boots and runs just fine.

    I put the PSU from the spare PC into the one that I thought was broken and now it powers up just fine.

    so I swap both power supplies back into their original machines and the one that was broken is still broken and the one that was good is still good

    :confused:
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ATX != AT.

    The days of simply applying power are gone. ATX requires systems to integrate. The result is usually much more clean; however, when using shitty components, things can be incompatable. Tolerances that are okay with one product may be unacceptable with another.

    Generally a rail is not sustaining voltage at a given current demand. A faulty powergood circuit can also be at fault.
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Building on what Jolly said, my first guess is that the power supply has slowly degraded over time and can no longer provide its rated output. Hence, your spare PC (which, unless you're a total idiot, is going to be the older and less demanding of the two machines) was still happy with the degraded power output, and the PSU from the spare PC is still holding up better so it was able to power the newer machine acceptably.
     
  17. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    yea was thinking more along the lines of a press but I suppose the hammer should work. I figured it wouldn't fit but the guy that had the mobo was insisting that it would fit...dumbass
     
  18. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    The "good" power supply is an Ultra X-Connect 500w power supply that is a little over two years old. The "bad' power supply is a 550w antec truepower that is about a year old. The motherboard is an EPoX 9NPA+ SLi. With the two power supplies, both the BIOS and Speedfan are showing the same voltages.

    :dunno:
     
  19. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    I see what you are saying
    I'll find out for sure tonight one way or the other, but I am leaning towards the PSU being shit :sad2:
     
  20. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    yeah, it was the power supply :wtc:

    in the new box it would turn on, power up all the fans, HDDs and dvd drive but I got no video and no post. Had to run to fry's and pick up a 600w thermaltake PSU :sad2:
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ugh why the fuck did your dumb ass buy a thermaltake? Last time I checked, Frys did carry good brands, as well -- such as Enermax.
     
  22. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    not only am I a dumbass, I am also cheap and needed something that cost less than $100 :sadwavey:
     
  23. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yay! Worksafe mode works again!
     
  24. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    :werd:

    I just noticed that yesterday.
     

Share This Page