Could somebody PLEASE tell me how

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fitz, Feb 26, 2006.

  1. fitz

    fitz .

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    32,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Could somebody please tell me how I can connect my iRiver H10 MP3 player to my car's CD player and be able to switch the songs from my mp3 player with the headunit of the car?

    I'm looking at spending $200-300 for a new headunit looked at Eclipse CD Series and some Alpines. If anybody could help me out with this and recommend me a headunit that would fully support an iRiver mp3 player I'd greatly appreciate it. :x:

    thanks
     
  2. Ry4n

    Ry4n OG Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    I don't believe there is a headunit available that does that, at least for an iRiver. It's all about the iPod unfortunately.
     
  3. fitz

    fitz .

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    32,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    :wtc:
    thanks for your help !

    do you happen to know if there is a headunit that I can connect my iRiver to and play songs from the iRiver? I don't want to be forced to use a crappy FM transmitter.
     
  4. Ry4n

    Ry4n OG Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    Any Alpine with the "AI-Net" capability, Pioneer with the "P-Bus" capability, or Kenwoods with changer controls have adapters that are sold separately that give you an Aux. input at the back of the unit. Then all you'd need is a RCA to Mini Y adapter for a couple bucks.

    Lots of other brands are the same way. A couple of the new Sony decks have a mini input jack on the front of the faceplate (as well as one or two of the new Pioneer decks.)
     
  5. fitz

    fitz .

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    32,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
  6. Ry4n

    Ry4n OG Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    No, that one doesnt have any sort of input. The CD3000 has optional aux. input, but Crutchfield doesn't seem to carry the Eclipse adapter :dunno:

    edit: page 7 on this PDF (4.6MB) is what you would need. And it would only work with models CD3000 and up.
     
  7. fitz

    fitz .

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    32,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    is the sound quality a lot better than saying using an FM transmitter or tape? Ry4n thanks for helping me out so much. :)
     
  8. Ry4n

    Ry4n OG Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    maine
    It's much better than a tape or FM modulator. Direct connection = cd quality (as long as your mp3's are of cd quality of course.)
     
  9. fitz

    fitz .

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    32,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
  10. Ry4n

    Ry4n OG Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    maine
  11. fitz

    fitz .

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    32,885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    done, thanks will order on Monday
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2006

Share This Page