Corporate IT, I salute you!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mrj, Aug 31, 2007.

1. mrj

mrj New Member

This is a long one, I'll say from the beginning, the entire point of this post is to hear stories of other people that I can relate to. If you've been in IT for awhile, and have worked in different environments, lets hear your story.

pedobear time......

I've been an MSFT Net/Systems Admin for 5-6 years, in various fields. Typically in 90%+ Unix/BSD environments, so while I'm not admin worthy of Unix, I'm not a Windows fanboy whatsoever. OS's are tools that are only as secure and wonderful as their Administrators. :ugh:

I recently started a new position, and, as I've changed jobs several times in the past few years due to our flowing market and my age, and my love of the raises you get from new jobs.. I've got a specific system in place for every computer when I first sit at it.

If I'm using Windows (I'm forced to here, yes, I love Adminning Windows from Ubuntu. I love my dig, and no thanks to cygwin.) I grab the public and private IP of my workstation, I check the usual "administrator booklets" for VPN info, if there isn't one I throw one on when I get time and spend the first day figuring out what subdomains are ticketing, nagios, the boss's girlfriends nudes, etc. - then I go home, ssh or rdp in, and finish setting up the system from home. Usually consists of uploading my favorite tools, updating things, throwing all my bookmarks in, and making 9 million email folders with 30 million forward/archive/etc rulesets.