Core Duo, Core 2 Duo, FSB, and CACHE

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CreditMVP, Dec 21, 2007.

  1. CreditMVP

    CreditMVP Dr. Johnny Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WKRP in Cincinnati
    how important are these?

    which is not worth buying because most programs do not use the full capabilities of the core chips?

    whats the highest speed FSB and most amount of Cache memory you guys seen on a system?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get core2duo. Ignore coreduo.

    fastest core2duo right now is 3GHz 4MB L2 and 1333FSB
    you can get a core2extreme at 3GHz 12MB L2 and 1333FSB
    you can get a core2quad at 2.66GHz 8MB L2 and 1333FSB

    Depending on what your doing, either the extreme or quad would be faster.
     
  3. CreditMVP

    CreditMVP Dr. Johnny Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WKRP in Cincinnati
    but i heard no programs even support quad. im into doing image/video/audio editing. im sure i would need top of the line for that. what are the highest laptop specs out there?
     
  4. CreditMVP

    CreditMVP Dr. Johnny Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WKRP in Cincinnati
    core 2 extreme sounds awesome. 12mb cache? :eek5:
     
  5. CreditMVP

    CreditMVP Dr. Johnny Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WKRP in Cincinnati
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you arn't likely to find a quad or extreme in a lappy, at this time.

    I have a core2duo in my lappy and it loves photoshop. Works awsome. RAM IS YOUR FRIEND!!!


    a quad setup would certainly help for lots of video/photo/audio editing. But again, not gonna find it in a lappy.
     
  7. Halcyon

    Halcyon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  9. dakayus

    dakayus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    laptops are not for video. go strictly with a desktop. Number 2, I would get something with a lower fsb otherwise you'll have to buy more expensive ram provided that you'll over clock. Cache does make a difference. Check tomshardware to find out all that stuff you've been wondering.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    100% confirmation that you're a faggot and have absolutely *NO* clue what you're talking about.
     
  11. mattATX

    mattATX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ATX
    i really see no point in overclocking a laptop but to each their own. How about a sweet watercooling setup on your laptop.
     
  12. Sphere

    Sphere New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah, I just throw some water onto the keypad every now and then. No need for a big watercooling rig.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    are you actually that fucking dumb?
     
  14. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on a core 2 2.0ghz 2gb ram 5400 rpm hdd and premiere renders veeeeeeery fast, probably faster than my athlon 64 3500+ 1gb ram, 2 x 250 raid 0 desktop at home. so if you're doing basic editing/photo work a core 2 w/ 2gb ram will suffice, preferably w/ a 7200 rpm hdd (definitely not an external, although I can edit off of mine w/out lag)...depends on how much multimedia work you're doing, and also how hardcore is it?
     
  15. dakayus

    dakayus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    What particularly qualifies you to flame? You offered no advice whatsoever. How about shut the fuck up? Yeah?
    And yes toms is a good place to look in the event that the individual is going to go with a desktop to do video. Laptops are more or less meant for portability and don't offer the robust processing capabilities.

    mattATX- people do overclock laptops. You can look up overclocked dell m1210's. I just know that particular one because it's what I'm using and I honestly can't recommend overclocking it.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    The OP sent me numberous PMs that I responded to directly.


    :ugh: you don't even realize how fucking stupid you are.
     
  17. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    Intel's new chip line up that was released at CES looks awesome! I'm really trying to talk myself out of building a new system around the E8400... but it's priced right to build.
     

Share This Page