Core 2 Duo installation question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Repentinus, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    I recently bought a Core 2 Duo processor and was trying to install it in my XFX 680i motherboard. I'm used to AMD procs where all you do is line up the pins and drop it in. The locking arms on those drops down quite easily. No need for any force at all really. However, when installing my Core 2 Duo it seems in order for the locking arm to go down it needs quite a bit of pressure. I'm not sure if this is due to the fact it doesn't have pins or not. I hate to force anything when it comes to installing hardware. Am I supposed to put that much force on it?
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    press down lightly on the load plate as you secure it with the lever
     
  3. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    When I just installed my new C2D I had to apply a bit of pressure as well.
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Yep, same when I put mine together a few months ago.
     
  5. Mike00

    Mike00 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    pa
    I just built one tonight and I have to say it shocked me how easy it was to lock in the cpu. Older socket 939 boards on back used to be such a pain to lock cpu in and had apply a decent amount of pressure.
     

Share This Page