WEB Copyright Q's V. Online Portfolio.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bonesdsm, May 8, 2008.

1. bonesdsm

bonesdsm Ron Paul for Life.

Hey guys, Im pretty new at this.

I need to get my online portfolio running, in it I will have my design,photography,and illustrations. Obviously i need a copyright to protect my images on the website.

Where do you guys go to buy your copyright, and can you tell me whats involved, for i have no idea?

It will be a website that will be updated often, what kind of a copyright would i need that would protect updates, etc.

Thanks in advanced.

2. alwaysth

alwaysth New Member

Copyrights are somewhat useless.

3. thomor25

thomor25 I make money online....

you need watermarks
    copyrights are useless unless you are a big corp

4. Finest

Finest OG #93

Just put a watermark on it or big signature that basically makes the image useless to anyone who wants to steal it.

5. trev.the.enemy

trev.the.enemy New Member

:werd:

I always put a transparent watermark across the entire image so nobody would be able to use it even if they cropped. :o

6. bonesdsm

I dont know guys, Every online portfolio ive come across has the copryright on the bottom.

I would still like to copyright my website, has anyone done it and can help me out a bit?

Watermarkig is so ugly, but i guess its necesserary, isnt it?

7. jdw

jdw New Member

Anyone with 9 keys on a keyboard can write copyright on the bottom of their site. A little text doesn't stop anyone from running away with your projects - not even a watermark will stop a determined photoshopper.

For me, I lay a transparent watermark across most of my photos (photography biz). Placement depends on what I have planed for the photos - if I'm planning on selling that batch it gets a big mark laid right across the middle.

Don't want someone to steal it - don't put it on the internets.

8. alwaysth

alwaysth New Member