Converting from .doc to .pdf

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by StainMeNow, Jan 27, 2006.

  1. StainMeNow

    StainMeNow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm finishing up my resume right now, and I need to convert it to PDF. I know how to do the conversion using the print function and what not, and can successfully create a PDF.

    Problem is, though, that there's a link in the original document that I want to be clickable in the PDF. Does anyone know how to do this? Am I just missing some setting, or do I need to use a different program?
     
  2. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I use OpenOffice.org, there is an export to PDF function that works great. You could get OOo for free or wait for Microsoft to include it in their office suite :mamoru:

    I really don't have anything to tell you except getting OOo as an alternitive to MS Office.
     
  3. StainMeNow

    StainMeNow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried MS Ofiice (both PC and Mac) and OO in order to try to do this. None of them have given me a clickable link.

    Thanks for the input, though!
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
  5. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Why do you have a link to a website in your resume?
     
  6. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    in OOo I can just click on the "Export Directly as PDF" button, I believe there is a shortcut under the file menu also.

    :dunno:
     
  7. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I'm an idiot, I completely missed what you were trying to do...
     
  8. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I just tried in OOo and it worked, made a link to google.com and then exported it and clicked on the link in the pdf :dunno:
     
  9. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    works for me using Office 2k3 using Adobe Pro 7.0.

    Doing the Conver TO Acrobat while in Office 2k3.
     
  10. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Same with Office 2k2 and Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Standard.
     
  11. jmechy

    jmechy Calmer then you are.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Office 12 has this feature built in.
     
  12. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a program called PDF Redirect Pro, and it can do the links you asked for. It's a free program, advanced features are just $30.
     
  13. StainMeNow

    StainMeNow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone for your help. Turns out that the install of Adobe was flawed on all the computers in the lab I was trying it on. Figures :)
     
  14. aredee

    aredee New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington DC

Share This Page