Convertible Top Cleaning

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by IslanderOffRoad, Feb 11, 2005.

1. IslanderOffRoad

IslanderOffRoad Do you even lift kit? OT Supporter

My girlfriend wants me to teach her how to properly wash a car. I'll probably get nowhere near that point (she'd get bored) but I'm gonna show her how to keep it looking relatively good. The only thing is her car is a convertible (02 Mustang V6) with a white top and white leather. I have no experience with convertibles, anything different I need to know for cleaning the top? Whats the best way to keep dirt off of it? Are there any special top cleaners that are worth considering? What about the white leather? Any good cleaner for white, my car has black leather, can I use the same stuff (Black Magic leather cleaner)

Thanks in advance.

2. 6']['9

6']['9 New Member

you can use megs APC+ it works pretty well. If not then you can use raggtop for vinyl tops.

3. Scottwax

Scottwax Making detailing great again! Moderator

Upholstry shampoo also works on convertible tops. You don't need to use any special cleaners on white leather. Just go with what has been working for you on black.

4. IslanderOffRoad

IslanderOffRoad Do you even lift kit? OT Supporter

Here's the thing about it... I don't know if I'm happy with my leather cleaner.

I've got an 03 Mustang GT, Black leather, my leather feels a bit hard
    Her 02 Vert, White leather, feels buttery soft, and I don't want that to change. I'm wondering if my cleaner is the problem.

5. 6']['9

6']['9 New Member