SRS Controlling parents

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by runawaycamel, Jan 4, 2009.

1. runawaycamel

runawaycamel New Member

I'd like to know when your parents stopped being so controlling.
    And I'd like to know if I was unreasonable in this situation.

I'm a 3rd year college student at home for winter break. During the school year I live in an apartment about an hour away. The rent was due on the 1st of the month and it already was going to be around 3 days late so I needed to go down there to drop it off anyways.
    My boyfriend is leaving the country for a month tomorrow and I thought it would be nice to spend the last night with him in my apartment, alone. It really does get annoying having to tip toe around parents when you're hanging out with your boyfriend (even though they know we've slept together before and it didn't seem to be a problem).
    So last night I tell my mom that I'm going to see him and that I may be going out to the city and that I'd text her if I did. Well, I did text her...and I got this influx of angry texts and calls. They thought I went behind their backs and am going to get pregnant yadda yadda etc etc...
    There didn't seem to be a problem before I left.

Anyways, I still went and am now home again. My parents had locked me out of the house so I had to break in, they got rid of my christmas present, and refuse to talk to me.
    Does this just seem a liiiiittle bit overdramatic? They are helping me pay for school and some other things, but I'm working hard to be independent. And I'm 20 years old. This seems obnoxiously overly controlling to me. Comments?

2. Spaceering

Spaceering I bite.

ok the end of what happened sounds a bit too far.