MIL considering the AF

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by northw3st, May 24, 2008.

1. northw3st

northw3st New Member

I have my MBA, but it seems that the business world is for tools. i hate waking up to go sit at a desk all day. i need more out of life.

my question is, since i already have my college eduation, would i have to go through basic boot camp? or would I just go through officer camp?

any advice or anything? signing up for the military is a big decision. some people say it's real hard, some people say it's not that bad. i don't mind difficult challenges, i just want to make sure it's overall a good experience.

2. brackac

brackac Fuck all of this. OT Supporter

If you are looking to escape a desk job the AF is probably the worse choice as an officer. Even though all officers do a large amount of paperwork, and desk work, the AF seems to do the most. I personally have three friends that transferred from the AF to the Army because of that. They all went from being Comm Officers in the AF to being Combat Arms Officers in the Army.

3. northw3st

northw3st New Member

interesting. the only thing is, i've always heard the air force is the best one to go in if you don't want to lose your civilian life completely. not that im afraid to do the others, but the air force seems to fit my needs the best.

the main thing i want to do is get back in shape. im not in bad shape, but i need extra motivation. i need it to be a part of my job. i don't really mind doing paper work, i just don't really see my life being what i wanted it to be right now. i need more sense of achievement. all my friends are afraid of the military, so i get no support from them. i really need to talk face to face with someone who has done it. i need to know things like, how often you get to visit your family, etc.

4. brackac

brackac Fuck all of this. OT Supporter