Considering getting my first bike

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Insominac, Dec 15, 2009.

1. Insominac

Insominac New Member

and i know there has to be a thread somewhere in here for complete beginners. I live in Ohio, so i have to find a place to take the classes, but do i have to have a bike to take the classes? do i need one to get my license? Also, whats the best starter bike? I can scrape together about 1500$, so what are my options?

2. njftw

njftw New Member

Listen... everyone is going to give you different opinions and swear by them. Get which ever bike you can afford, and you feel you'll be happy with.

Also, yes, you should get your license... when you get on the street, drive like everyone else is going to wreck into you, not matter what.

I started on an R1 and never had a wreck... so don't listen to people tell you that you need to start on a fucking 250.

Like I said, get what you can afford... and something that you aren't going to hate

3. Insominac

Insominac New Member

So whats an R1? where is a good place to find used bikes?

4. Frequency

Frequency New Member

And you never learned to ride properly

5. Frequency

Frequency New Member

A horrible bike to begin riding on, remember you are getting your first bike, hopefully not your last.

For your budget it will be hard, out of that 1500 remember you will also need protective gear. Best place to look for a cheaper bike, craigslist, ebay, and newspaper

6. PcH

PcH Guest

An R1 is a bike made by Yamaha. It had a 1000cc size engine, absolutely ridiculous for a first time rider. I found my Ninja 500R on Craigslist and paid $2000 cash. I would recommend it if you want a sport bike.

As far as your other questions, take the MSF course regardless if your state requires it for your motorcycle endorsement on your driver's license. Invest in some gear (helmet, jacket, gloves, boots, pants) because you're investing in saving your life if and when you go down.

7. AVengeance