Considering buying an iMac

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RonBurgundy, Jan 6, 2008.

  1. RonBurgundy

    RonBurgundy Stay Classy

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been a PC user all my life, but I really like the new iMacs.
    I tried it out at Best Buy and watched the 30 minute walk through on Apple's site in regards to Leopard.

    Obviously when I buy one I'll go via Apple.com because of the student discount.

    What I basically want to know is if it's possible to upgrade the RAM in an iMac seeing as the casing is so thin. Can you even open up the casing in those things?

    How big of an issue is the video card? 128mb vs 256mb? The difference in price between the entry level iMac and one step up is about $300 (considering HD space etc too), but are graphics really a big deal on a Mac? I'm not a hardcore gamer or anything.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2008
  2. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    Yes, the iMac's memory is user-upgradable. Of course it doesn't have any general purpose PCIe slots, the only Mac that has those now is the Mac Pro.

    I'm not really sure about the graphics card, but I imagine if you're not planning to do much gaming or other graphics-intensive applications, probably the standard graphics card would be OK for you.
     
  3. RonBurgundy

    RonBurgundy Stay Classy

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it take the same kind of RAM as a PC would?
     
  4. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
  5. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    The base video card is fine for general usage and you will be able to run older or less demanding games.

    Memory is very easy to upgrade, you just remove a single screw and a panel then take out the old memory and/or add new memory. The iMac uses notebook memory which are PC2 5300 SO-DIMMs (DDR2 667MHz).
     
  6. RonBurgundy

    RonBurgundy Stay Classy

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many slots are there for memory?
     
  7. vansamirin

    vansamirin Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    2 slots, its easy to do, i upgraded mine this past summer
     
  8. RonBurgundy

    RonBurgundy Stay Classy

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do the 1GB machines come with a 1GB stick of RAM or is each slot filled with 512MB?
     
  9. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe that's up to you. I might be wrong. :hs:
     
  10. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    At any rate, you can purchase more ram from a 3rd party and it will literally save you hundreds of dollars.

    For instance, I ordered a 2gb module for 38 bucks a cpl weeks ago.
     
  11. RonBurgundy

    RonBurgundy Stay Classy

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    How often does Apple generally come out with a new OS? Every year? How about the hardware? What's the frequency of Apple releasing new versions of the iMac etc.
     
  12. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Tiger came out in early 2005. So 2.5 years almost? check out macrumours.com, they have a buyers guide there that shows when it is and when isn't a good time to buy.
     
  13. mk39920

    mk39920 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just bought a 20 inch Imac, it came with one 1gig stick and one empty slot. I went out and bought another gig for $30 aftermarket (Corsair). The prices for ram have really come down. Also the Imacs take the same 200 pin dims as laptops.
     
  14. dooks88

    dooks88 need some bat wings

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SRQ
    i bought 4 gigs for my girlfriends new iMac for about $90. Couldnt believe how easy the install was.
     
  15. RonBurgundy

    RonBurgundy Stay Classy

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another quick question... do I get a Leopard CD with the iMac in case I ever need to re-install it?
     
  16. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Yes.
     

Share This Page