Connectivity Problems...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Westside, Apr 15, 2003.

  1. Westside

    Westside New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    30,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Laptop running XP w/ built in NIC. Belkin router with RoadRunner broadband. Problem...I try to connect the laptop behind the router, no dice, even after installing the router software as well as RoadRunner software, I still get a "network cable unplugged" and RR software says my network connection is DHCP configured but not allowing me to send out my IP. I assume this is caused by the router. I have hooked up the laptop directly behind the cable modem, bypassing the router, and it works fine. Any ideas? :(
     
  2. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    checked the ethernet cable you're using?
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    make sure you're not using a crossover cable or that you're plugged into a regular port rather than the WAN port on your router
     
  4. Westside

    Westside New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    30,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I've tried using 3 different cat5 cables, all wired the same, that have worked on the other computers we use on the router. I guess it's just a driver problem :( It's an IBM thinkpad a20m fyi. :(
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    do you get a link light on the router when you plug into it? Make sure it's your LAN connection that shows "unplugged" because some laptops have other ports which are classified as "network connections" also and might show up as disconnected
     
  6. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I work for RR tech support..it is all DHCP, your router's messed...try to get another one and test it...

    |eb_CRX
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    try removing the RR software from the laptop and allowing it to simply gets it IP info from the router like it was intended to. There is probably some conflicts going on between the router software and the RR software.
     
  8. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    the RR software does fuck all

    trust me

    |eb_CRX
     
  9. Westside

    Westside New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    30,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ok, well quick update. The laptop works flawlessly directly behind the cable modem when using RoadRunner, without the software. When directly behind the cable modem while using AOL Broadband, jack shit would work. I have yet to try it again behind my router, but will let you know what happens. BTW...laying in bed while browsing OT is greater than ALL!!!!!
     
  10. Westside

    Westside New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    30,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Another update, sorry for the bump.

    Laptop still won't connect behind router. I deleted the RR software that i could find...maybe not all of it. When I plug the rj45 into the laptop, the network cable disconnected icon won't disappear...so I'm not sure if it's hardware related or software... :(
     

Share This Page